The Final Leg of FIDE Grand Prix 2014-2015

13-26 May 2015 

The final round of the final leg of FIDE Grand Prix was held, in the course of which the winner of 2014-2015 Series was named.


May 13 in Khanty-Mansiysk the final stage of FIDE Grand Prix 2014-2015 was opened.

Outstanding grandmasters of contemporaneity, officials of the International Chess Federation (FIDE) and the regional authorities have gathered at the premises of Ugra Chess Academy, an architectural miracle of Siberia.

In his greeting speech the FIDE CEO Geoffrey Borg noted: “Very good players are participating in this tournament. We are very happy to be back in Khanty-Mansiysk as this city has hosted main chess tournaments since 2005. I would like to greet everybody here and to thank the regional authorities for making this happen.”

The final chord of the solemn ceremony was the presentation of the main trophies of the tournament, Big and Small Cups. The awards were introduced by the head of Lobortas Classic Jewelry House Igor Lobortas.

In a solemn ceremony of awarding the winner, Italian grand master Fabiano Caruana, the governor of Ugra Natalia Komarova and FIDE President Kirsan Ilyumzhinov, other officials of FIDE, as well as Igor Lobortas, the Head of Lobortas Classic Jewelry House, that created the precious trophies, Big and Small FIDE Grand Prix Cups, have taken part.

As Natalia Komarova noted, the governor of Ugra, daily the chess battles were witnessed by not only the thousands of fans in Khanty-Mansiysk, but also by 50,000 of Internet users over the online broadcast.

Fabiano Caruana received the winner’s cup from the hands of the President of FIDE and the governor of Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Okrug, and then together with Igor Lobortas he made the first symbolic print of the seal, mounted in the base of Small cup. Chess Federation.

Fabiano Caruana got 370 points in total. The American Hikaru Nakamura became the second. Together, they have won a berth in the chess tournament, the winner of which will receive the right to battle for the title of world champion with the current champion Magnus Carlsen.



FIDE  |  FIDE  | FIDE Grand Prix  | Khanty-Mansiysk 2015